Apple iPod touch 32 GB (4th Generation) NEWEST MODEL

February 13, 2011 by  
Filed under Lifestyle, mp3 players, Tech

enlarge enlarge

Brand: Apple
Category: CE
Department: Electronics & Computers

List Price: $299.00
Buy Used: $234.99
as of 2/12/2011 22:15 MST details
You Save: $64.01 (21%)

In Stock

New (50) Used (38) Refurbished (5) from $234.99

Sales Rank: 3

Color: black
Media: Electronics
Autographed: No
Memorabilia: No
Batteries Included: No
Display Size: 3.500
Size: 32 GB
Shipping Weight (lbs): 0.2
Dimensions (in): 4.4 x 2.3 x 0.3
Warranty: 1 year warranty

MPN: MC544LL/A
Model: MC544LL/A
UPC: 885909395095
EAN: 0885909395095
ASIN: B001FA1O18

Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days


Features:

32 GB capacity for about 8,000 songs, 40,000 photos, or 40 hours of video
Up to 40 hours of audio playback or 7 hours of video playback on a single charge
3.5-inch (diagonal) widescreen Multi-Touch display with 960-by-640-pixel resolution (326 pixels per inch)
Support for AAC, Protected AAC (iTunes Store), MP3, MP3 VBR, Audible, Apple Lossless, AIFF, and WAV audio formats; H.264, MPEG-4, and Motion JPEG video codecs in M4V, MP4, MOV, and AVI formats
One-year limited warranty

Accessories:


Similar Items:


Editorial Reviews:

Amazon.com Product Description

See friends while you talk to them with FaceTime. Shoot, edit, and share stunning HD video. Play games against friends, or unknown foes, with the new Game Center. And do it all on the Retina display–the highest-resolution screen on any mobile device. It makes graphics and text look even more amazing. The new iPod touch. It’s state-of-the-art fun.

Introducing the new iPod touch. Now with FaceTime, Retina display, HD video recording, and Game Center. Click to enlarge.

Advanced engineering at play.

Pioneering technology built into iPod touch is how you’re able to flick, tap, and pinch. It’s what makes a racing game feel so real. It’s why you’re able to see a friend crack up at your jokes from across the globe. And it’s the reason iPod touch is the most incredible iPod you’ll ever own.

Looks can be amazing.
iPod touch has an all-new design that makes it the thinnest, lightest, most amazing iPod touch ever. Holding one is all the proof you need. With its curved design, iPod touch is now a mere 7.2 millimeters thin. Its engineered-glass front and stainless steel back feel sleek and smooth in your hand. Turn it on, and you’re instantly blown away by the brilliant Retina display. iPod touch is the perfect combination of stunning design and revolutionary technology–brilliant from the outside in.

Retina display. A blast from the future.
There are lots of reasons you won’t want to take your eyes off the new iPod touch. The 960-by-640 backlit LCD display, for one. It packs 326 pixels per inch, making it the highest-resolution iPod screen ever. To achieve this, Apple engineers developed pixels so small–a mere 78 micrometers across–that the human eye can’t distinguish individual pixels. Even though you can’t see them, you’ll definitely notice the difference. Text is remarkably sharp, and graphics are incredibly vivid.

Apple A4 processor. More power to you.
The Apple A4 chip is behind, or rather underneath, all the fun you can have on iPod touch. Apple engineers designed the A4 chip to be a remarkably powerful yet remarkably power-efficient mobile processor. With it, iPod touch can easily perform complex jobs such as multitasking, editing video, and placing FaceTime calls. All while maximizing battery life. And fun.

Gyro + Accelerometer. Smooth moves.
iPod touch just learned some new moves. It now includes a built-in three-axis gyroscope. When paired with the accelerometer, the gyro makes iPod touch capable of advanced motion sensing such as user acceleration, full 3D attitude, and rotation rate. Translation: more motion gestures and greater precision for an even better gaming experience.

Two cameras. Double the fun.
iPod touch captures video with two built-in cameras. It shoots amazing HD 720p video from the back camera. And with its advanced backside illumination sensor, it captures beautiful footage even in low-light settings. All while the built-in microphone records conversations, music, or any audio at the same time. And on the front of the iPod touch, the built-in camera is perfect for making FaceTime calls and shooting self-portraits. It’s surprising how much fun can fit into something so small.

Multi-Touch. Control at your fingertips.
When you put your finger on the iPod touch, how does it just start doing what you want it to do? It’s a chain reaction, really. The Multi-Touch display layers a protective shield over a capacitive panel that senses your touch using electrical fields. It then transmits that information to the Retina display below it. So you can glide through albums with Cover Flow, flick through photos and enlarge them with a pinch, zoom in and out on a section of a web page, and control game elements precisely.

FaceTime comes to iPod touch. Don’t just say hello. Smile.

Tap for a more instant instant message.
Take “LOL” to the next level and actually see friends laughing out loud. Or bring “XOXO” to life when you blow someone a kiss from miles away. FaceTime on iPod touch makes it possible. FaceTime works right out of the box–just enter your Apple ID and email address. Or create a new email account just for FaceTime. Using FaceTime is as easy as it gets. Say you want to start a video call with your best friend over Wi-Fi. Just tap the FaceTime app and find her entry to start the call. An invitation pops up on her iPod touch or iPhone 4 screen asking if she wants to join you. When she accepts, FaceTime begins. It’s all perfectly seamless. And it works in both portrait and landscape. See how much fun you can have.

See friends while you talk with FaceTime, or play games against friends or unknown foes with Game Center.

Two cameras make either side its fun side.
iPod touch has two built-in cameras, one on the front above the display and one on the back. The front camera has been tuned for FaceTime. It has just the right field of view and focal length to focus on your face at arm’s length. So it always presents you in the best possible light. Which is particularly handy when you’re talking to someone who’s more than just a friend.

The back camera. See and share.
So your roommate had to work late and couldn’t make it to the concert. You can share the encore with a FaceTime call. As the band takes the stage and starts playing one of her all-time favorite songs, just tap a button. And before the lead singer can belt out his first note, iPod touch switches to the back camera and to the sure-to-be-legendary performance. Another tap switches to the front camera and to you. Simple, fast, and fun.

HD video recording comes to iPod touch. Ready, and action.

Built-in editing gives video a fun-tuning.
No need to wait until you’re back at your computer to edit video. With basic editing built into iPod touch, you can get right down to business. Just drag to select start and end points on a filmstrip. Keep only the parts of the video you want, and turn it into something you and your friends will watch again and again.

Make mini blockbusters in just a few taps with iMovie on iPod touch. Say you’re on an amazing road trip, and you want to create a video postcard of everything you’ve seen and done. Just use the iMovie app–pick it up in the App Store for just $4.99. Built for iPod touch, iMovie lets you combine and edit video clips, give them that extra something with dynamic themes and transitions, add music and photos, and share your finished movies with the world.

Make a movie. Starring you.
The next time you venture out on, say, an amazing hike, don’t just tell your friends about it. Show them. In addition to the high-definition camera on the back, iPod touch has a VGA-quality camera on the front–above the display–that lets you see yourself on the display while you record. It’s perfect for turning the camera on yourself. No more guessing if you’re in the frame or accidentally cropping yourself out altogether. So get ready for your close-up.

Shoot what you want. Share where you want. Ever find yourself in the middle of typing an email when you see something that words just can’t describe? Just launch the camera and record on the fly. Then upload your HD movie directly to YouTube. Or select some video from the Camera Roll and attach it to a new email message, ready to send. Posting to your Facebook page or blog is also just a tap away. And you can easily sync all the video you shoot on iPod touch back to your Mac or PC.

Point and shoot.
An awesome view. A decked-out cupcake. Your dog looking unbearably cute. If you want to take a quick photo to upload to your Facebook page, either camera on iPod touch can also capture stills. Just tap on the screen to adjust exposure. Then post to Facebook and let the comments begin.

The new Game Center app on iPod touch lets you expand your social gaming network–exponentially.

Game Center. Way more than two can play that game.

Gamers rejoice. Game Center is here.
The new Game Center app on iPod touch lets you expand your social gaming network. Exponentially. All anyone needs to play is an iPod touch or iPhone running iOS 4.1. With iOS 4.1, you’ll see a Game Center app on your Home screen. Just tap it and sign in with your Apple ID, and you’re good to go. You can create a different nickname that will be visible to friends and the gaming community. You can also assign several email addresses to the Game Center app, making it easy for more friends to find you. Download any games you see by tapping links in Game Center. Games can be started right in the Game Center app. And the best part: Once you sign in to Game Center, you’re always connected. Until you decide to sign out.

Friends. Soon to be opponents.
Bring your friends along for the ride. Or match. Or mission. Once you’re signed in to the Game Center app, you can invite someone by sending a friend request using their nickname or email address. Your friends show up in a separate Friends list in the Game Center app. Tap on a friend’s name, and you can see what games they’ve been playing. You can also check out pending friend requests you receive, and add as you see fit.

Leaderboards and achievements. Score some bragging rights.
Take a look at leaderboards and see how your score ranks against your friends, as well as all players of each game. You can also compare game achievements with your friends. Check out leaderboards and achievements in the Game Center app and in each individual game app. Let the smack talk begin.

Meet your match.
Say you want to get a multiplayer game going. Auto-match will prioritize your friends if they happen to be looking for an auto-match, too. Otherwise, it will set you up with a soon-to-be-friend from anywhere around the world. You can also choose to invite friends and have auto-match fill the number of players needed for a game.

Music. Let your fingers do the rocking.

Cover Flow. A work of album art.
What a song does for your ears, Cover Flow on iPod touch does for your eyes and fingers. Turn iPod touch on its side and glide through your music by album art with the flick of your finger. Tap an album cover to flip it over and display a track list. Tap again to start the music.

Genius playlists. From one great song comes an even greater playlist.
Say you’re listening to a song you really love and want to hear other tracks that go great with it. Genius uses that song to find other songs in your library and makes a Genius playlist for you. Listen to the playlist right away, save it for later, or even refresh it and give it another go. Count on Genius to create a playlist you wouldn’t have thought of yourself.

Genius Mixes. The ultimate mix-master.
Genius acts as your personal DJ. All you do is sync iPod touch to iTunes, and Genius automatically searches your library to find songs that sound great together. Then it creates multiple mixes you’ll love. These mixes are like channels programmed entirely with your music. It’s a great way to rediscover songs you haven’t heard in forever–and some you even forgot you had.

Let your fingers do the rocking.

Shake to Shuffle. And rock ‘n’ roll with it.
Shake things up a bit. Musically speaking, that is. The next time you’re listening to your tunes, turn on Shake to Shuffle, then give iPod touch a shake to shuffle to a different song in your music library. It’s just another way iPod touch keeps your music feeling fresh.

iTunes. That’s entertainment.
Feed your iPod touch songs and music videos from your iTunes library on your computer. Or buy and download new music on your iPod touch when you access iTunes over Wi-Fi. Songs you purchase on iPod touch transfer to your Mac or PC the next time you connect iPod touch to your computer. And now with iTunes Ping, you can follow friends to find out what music they’re listening to, buying, and recommending. Or catch up with your favorite artists and see if they’re playing near you.

Bluetooth. No strings attached.
iPod touch includes support for Bluetooth wireless technology. So you can pair wireless stereo headphones with it. Keep your iPod in your bag or charging on your desk across the room and still listen to your music.

Movies + TV shows. Take the show, or movie, on the road.

The big screen. On the small screen.
With iPod touch, movie nights can happen anytime of day, anywhere you are. Carry hours of video with you and watch them on the amazing 3.5-inch color widescreen Retina display. Shop the iTunes Store and choose from thousands of movies, TV shows, and video podcasts to fill your iPod touch. From Hollywood blockbusters to indie favorites, there’s something for everyone. Download and watch movies with a few taps. Prefer TV shows? Get a single episode or an entire season’s worth all at once. With iPod touch, you can travel far and widescreen.

Control how you watch.
While watching your video, tap the display to bring up onscreen controls. You can play or pause, view by chapter, and adjust the volume. Or use the volume controls on the left side of the iPod touch. Want to switch between widescreen and full screen? Simply tap the display twice. It’s just like your TV remote. Except you never have to fight over it.

iTunes. Keep yourself entertained.
Need some entertainment for your next flight or road trip? With iTunes on your iPod touch and a Wi-Fi connection, you can buy movies and TV shows on the fly. You can also rent shows for just $0.99 an episode, in case you’re not sure if one is a keeper. And of course, you can also purchase movies and TV shows on your Mac or PC, then sync them to your iPod touch. Popcorn not included.

Visit your favorite websites. All you need is your iPod touch and Wi-Fi.
Available as a free download, iBooks is an amazing eBook reader and a great place to buy books.

And plenty more …

  • App Store
    Download apps directly to iPod touch. (Click here to jump down the page and learn all about apps.)
  • iTunes
    Create an iTunes Store account and shop over Wi-Fi anytime.
  • iBooks
    Available as a free download, iBooks is an amazing eBook reader and a great place to buy books.
  • iMovie
    Edit video, add themes and music, and share your movies. Available in the App Store for just $4.99.
  • Mail
    Send email and view attachments from your Gmail, MobileMe, or other email account.
  • Safari Web Browser
    Visit your favorite websites. All you need is your iPod touch and Wi-Fi.
  • Photos
    Take your photos with you. Share them in an email. Make your favorite your wallpaper.
  • Home Screen
    Customize the arrangement of your apps across multiple Home screens in iTunes.
  • Voice Control
    Control music playback on iPod touch using spoken commands.
  • Maps
    Find restaurants, concert venues, or any place you need to go, and see how to get there with Maps.
  • YouTube
    Watch the latest viral video sensation and access your favorite videos.
  • Nike + iPod
    Achieve your fitness goals with built-in Nike + iPod support on iPod touch.
  • Voice Memos
    Record notes, random thoughts, a friend’s impersonation, or any audio you want.
  • Accessibility
    iPod touch comes with screen-reading technology and other accessibility features.

App Store
Shop the App Store and discover over 75,000 apps that let you do even more with your iPod touch. Browse apps in categories from games to lifestyle, social networking to education, and more.

Discover apps in categories from games to lifestyle, social networking to education, and more.
The built-in Wi-Fi capability in iPod touch gives you access to the iTunes Store anywhere, anytime.

Browse Apps
Shop the App Store a number of ways. Tap Featured and get a list of new apps and to see what’s hot. Peruse by category. Check out the Top 25 apps. Or if you know exactly what app you’re looking for, find it by doing a quick search.

Kindle App
Have Kindle at your fingertips with this application:

  • Kindle: Read Kindle books on your iPhone or iPod touch

Genius Recommendations for Apps
There are tens of thousands of apps in the App Store, with more added every day. A new feature of iPod touch makes finding cool new apps even easier. It’s Genius for apps, and it works just like Genius for your music. Tap the Genius icon and get recommendations for apps that you might like based on apps you and others have downloaded.

Download Apps
When you find an app you want, buy and download it wirelessly to your iPod touch from anywhere over Wi-Fi, and start using it right away.

Update Apps
iPod touch tells you whenever an app update is available, so you’ll always have the latest versions of your favorite apps.

Read Kindle Books on the iPod touch

Read Kindle Books on the iPod touch

  • Read over 700,000 books – no Kindle required.
  • Get the best reading experience available on your iPhone or iPod touch.
  • Access your Kindle books even if you don’t have your Kindle with you.
  • Our Whispersync technology syncs your last page read, notes, bookmarks, and highlights across devices, so you can pick up where you left off.
  • Don’t have a Kindle? Get yours here.
  • Ready to read on your iPod touch? Download our reading app today.

Get the best reading experience available on your iPod touch

  • Shop the Kindle Store for over 700,000* Kindle books, including New Releases and 107 of 111 New York Times Best Sellers. Over 550,000 of these books are $9.99 or less, including 73 New York Times Best Sellers.
  • Choose from thousands of free classics, such as Pride and Prejudice or The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.
  • Get free book samples; read the first chapter free before you decide to buy.
  • Customize your reading experience by choosing the background color, font size, and either portrait or landscape format.
  • Instant dictionary word lookup with 250,000 entries and definitions. Tap and hold a word to view the definition. Use the Google and Wikipedia links to get more information.
  • Search inside the book to find a character, topic, or section you want to revisit.
  • You can also read your Kindle books on your Kindle, Kindle DX, PC, Mac, Android phone, and BlackBerry. Our Whispersync technology syncs your last page read, notes, bookmarks, and highlights across devices, so you can pick up where you left off.

What’s in the Box

32 GB iPod touch, earphones, dock connector to USB cable, and quick start guide.

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products

Apple iPod nano 8 GB Yellow (4th Generation)

February 22, 2009 by  
Filed under Lifestyle, mp3 players

apple-ipod-nano-8-gb-yellow-4th-generationEditorial Reviews:

Click the Image for best price
With eight amazing colors, a new curved design, and great new features, iPod nano rocks like never before. The Genius Playlist feature finds the songs in your music library that go great together and makes a playlist for you. With its built-in accelerometer, iPod nano is made to move. Give it a shake, and it shuffles to a different song in your library. Turn it on its side to flip through your album art in Cover Flow. And tilt, move, and play accelerometer-inspired games (games available separately). Watching movies, TV shows, and video is even more fun on the sharp 2-inch screen. And your photos (up to 7,000 of them) look great in portrait or landscape view. Available in 8 GB and 16 GB models, the 8 GB iPod nano puts up to 2,000 songs or 8 hours of video in your pocket.

With a new curved design and great new features, iPod nano rocks like never before. Click to enlarge.
Up to 2,000 songs, 8 hours of video, or 7,000 photos in your pocket. Click to enlarge.
Just under a quarter-inch deep. Click to enlarge.
Available in nine amazing colors; the (PRODUCT)RED nano is available exclusively through Apple. Click to enlarge.
Enjoy album art in Cover Flow, games, videos, and photos in landscape mode. (Green nano shown here.)

A Musical Genius
Say you’re listening to a song you really like and want to hear other tracks that go great with it. The Genius Playlist feature finds the songs in your music library that go great together and makes a Genius Playlist for you. It’s like having your own highly intelligent, personal DJ.

Find Your Music Faster
It’s even easier to find the song you want to hear. Now you can view your album art in Cover Flow. Or just press and hold the Center button to browse by album or artist. When you find the right song, press the Center button to add it to your on-the-go playlist.

Rock and Roll Over
Tilt or turn iPod nano on its side, and you’ll listen, watch, and play in new ways. You can flip through your album art with Cover Flow. Or, vertically speaking, see more albums and artists on the screen at one time.

Shake Your Groove Thing
Sometimes, we could all use a little unpredictability. And now you can shake to change your music. Just give iPod nano a shake, and it shuffles to a different song in your music library. You’ll always be surprised by what you’ll hear.

Let the Games Begin
Now you can get in on games made especially for iPod nano and the accelerometer. They respond to the way you move, so they’re immersive, addictive, and a blast. The iPod nano comes with Maze, which lets you work your way through vast mazes by tilting and moving. You can find even more games on the iTunes Store.

Even Your Photos Rock
Pull hundreds of photos from your pocket and share them wherever you go. Hold iPod nano upright and see your photos in portrait view. Turn the player on its side to see them in landscape. Your photos look beautiful in their proper aspect ratio on the vibrant, 320-by-240-resolution display.

The World’s Biggest Small Screen
Watching movies, TV shows, and videos is big fun on iPod nano. And the high-resolution picture looks crisp and vivid on the 2-inch widescreen display. So you can always have a little video with you.

Reduced Environmental Impact
The iPod nano embodies Apple’s continuing environmental progress. It is designed with the following features to reduce environmental impact:

  • Arsenic-free glass
  • Brominated flame retardant-free
  • Mercury-free
  • PVC-free
  • Highly recyclable aluminum enclosure

What’s in the Box
iPod nano, earphones, USB 2.0 cable, dock adapter, quick start guide


Customer Reviews: Read 618 more reviews…

5 out of 5 stars My first ipod; used for working out February 22, 2009
H. Graham (Jacksonville, FL)
Received this ipod for my birthday. SO far this has been great for working out. The shake to shuffle feature is very annoying and will drive you nuts when lifting/running luckily the feature is very easy to shut off in the settings menu. Besides that, it is very small and light(make sure to get a case). The battery life has been great for me but I only use it for music/podcasts. Itunes was not as user friendly as I expected but luckily I am a little tech savvy and used the help menu. Also, the genius feature was not very useful for me. Lastly, though the headphones were adequate playing back the music, they are very loose in my adult sized ears. All in all this is a great purchase for my needs.

4 out of 5 stars Great Product! February 21, 2009
charlee (USA)
I bought a yellow 4th generation nano a few months ago, and I’m VERY happy with it. The shipping was decent, didn’t take too long. The yellow color looks gold from some angles, but I like it. The accelerometer doesn’t seem to do what it is supposed to. They advertised that shaking your ipod will make it shuffle to a different song, but I’ve only been able to do that once, and I’ve tried a lot. That feature isn’t really that useful though, so I don’t mind. The design is great, the features are great. I recommend this product.

3 out of 5 stars It’s ok. February 21, 2009
M. Hill (TN)
This product is ok. It’s relatively simple to operate, but does not come with an instruction book so you have to go to the trouble of finding a 1-800 number and then calling it when you can’t do what you want to do.
It also can only be charged by plugging it into the computer, which has to be active for it to charge. I don’t know if an electric cord can be purchased separatley or not.
It seems to like certain songs and want to play them over and over. I haven’t figured out why or how to stop that yet either.

5 out of 5 stars Fastest I-Pod Delivery @ Best Price Available February 21, 2009
R. Betke (Chicago)
0 out of 1 found this review helpful

When I placed the order and asked for 2 day shipping, I was chasing the Birthday Deadline!!! The I-Pod arrived the following day!!! The price was the best available anywhere (including other internet sites!!) My daughter LOVES her new hot pink I-Pod, and I am a very satisfied customer!!

5 out of 5 stars Awesome! February 21, 2009
Tim Solak (Chicago, Il.)
0 out of 1 found this review helpful

Based on my satisfaction with this ipod, I would recommend buying anything and everything from Amazon!!!

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products

Onkyo DS-A2X Remote Interactive iPod Dock

February 22, 2009 by  
Filed under Lifestyle, mp3 players

onkyo-ds-a2x-remote-interactive-ipod-dockEditorial Reviews:

Product Description
The DS-A2x comes with an on-screen display mode (OSD) that enables you to view track lists, artists, albums, songs, genres, composers on your connected display for easy selection and navigation. If you have long lists on your iPod, you can use four page modes, Large, Medium, Small and Page, to move through the list in progressively larger steps. You’ll have absolutely no need to handle your iPod while it’s sitting in the DS-A2x as it comes with its own remote controller to control all basic playback functions. The remote controller also brings one-touch control for random shuffle playback over songs or albums, a resume function that will return to the track being played when the iPod is stopped or removed from the Dock and a repeat function for one track or all. You can also switch off the OSD to enjoy video playback via the DS-A2x’s composite video output. View photos as a slide show over the larger display of your TV or enjoy viewing your photos over you computer display. Relive your images with the option of music through your Onkyo system to accompany your slide show. Enables iPod video playback and photo slide shows Resume function Shuffle function for random playback of songs/albums Repeat function (1 track/All) TV display settings (background color/screen saver/NTSC or PAL format) Remote controller ID settings Auto Power on Auto selector function Time play & Sleep timer function Alarm function Direct change automatically switches input source to iPod Connectors – Composite video jack, audio out L/R jacks, RI jack, DC in 12V jack Compatible iPod Models – 5th Generation iPod (iPod Video), 4th Generation iPod with Click Wheel, iPod Mini (software 1.4.1 or later), iPod Photo (software 1.2.1 or later) & iPod Nano (software 1.1.1 or later) Dimensions – Width 4-7/16 x Height 2-3/16 x Depth 4-7/16 inches (112x60x112mm) Weight – 0.51 pounds, 230 grams


Customer Reviews: Read 57 more reviews…

4 out of 5 stars Onkyo DS-A2X February 21, 2009
Lillian Eulalie Healy (Georgia)
My husband and I love it its great for the nano i-pod my husband referes to it as his personal juke box

3 out of 5 stars Review of Onkyo DS-A2X February 12, 2009
Mark W (USA)
I ordered this product to work with my Onkyo 705 receiver and ipod. It works very well. My remote for the receiver runs the ipod dock which makes things easy. However, the on-screen display is not what I expected. I thought it would display what my ipod normally dispays on its screen. However, that is not the case. It only displays information (songs, artists, albums, etc.) in a typed format and looks more like an old “DOS” program than a windows-based program. Also, this information stays on full time when using the ipod so if you have a screen that is suspect to burn in (CRT, some plasma) you can not leave the screen up and running while listening to music.

2 out of 5 stars Difficult set up with SR-506 receiver February 1, 2009
Thomas E. Moore
0 out of 1 found this review helpful

I purchased the Ipod dock for my new SR-506 receiver, assuming the setup would be simple and sync well because both are Onyko products. Not so! The directions (non-user friendly, confusing, and requiring the manuals for both products) say to connect the dock with the RI (interactive-capable) compatible inputs for cable/sat and change the name on the receiver to “dock”. However, I’m using the receiver with satellite TV and need that input display. Evidently, there are no other RI compatible inputs for the dock on the receiver, so I’m reduced to using inputs (AUX or TAPE) that require a separate (not included) video cable that must be connected directly to the TV (inconvenient because wall-mounted in my case). The dock is handsome, sounds good, and makes a good charging station, but is certainly is not the plug-and-play accessory for my Onyko system I imagined when I purchased it.

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products

Harman Kardon Go + Play Portable Speakers System with Dock for iPod (Black/Silver)

February 22, 2009 by  
Filed under Lifestyle, mp3 players

harman-kardon-goEditorial Reviews:

Amazon.com Product Description
Understated, sublimely functional industrial design with unsurpassed performance and ease of use. From its flat, protective iPod cradle to its smart RF remote to its arching stainless-steel handle, this portable loudspeaker iPod dock is one that only Harman Kardon could build. Harman Kardon Go + Play delivers tight, thunderous bass from high-excursion low-frequency drivers. Just as important, the highs are distinct and crystal clear. Go + Play is AC- or battery-operated, so it will go anywhere your iPod or other music player goes–and make your favorite music sound better when it arrives. No matter how or where you use it, it’s the sound that sets Go + Play apart.

The Harman Kardon Go + Play multimedia loudspeaker system is designed to entertain. Click to enlarge.
Go + Play works equally well on the go or as a personal home entertainment system. Click to enlarge.
The system features the extraordinary industrial design, innovative technologies, and meticulous engineering that you’d expect from Harman Kardon. Click to enlarge.
Go + Play delivers an incredible sound experience from most dockable iPod models, MP3 players, or other audio devices, regardless of where you happen to be. Click to enlarge.

Designed to Entertain
For more than 50 years, Harman Kardon products have delivered–through extraordinary industrial design, innovative technologies, and meticulous engineering–the ultimate listening experience. And for the past 10 years, Harman Kardon has used these techniques to develop some of the world’s best-sounding and most-striking-looking multimedia products available. Whether for your computer or your iPod, Harman Kardon multimedia products deliver rich, high-quality sound from systems that look just as good as they sound. In fact, the Harman Kardon SoundSticks system is now in the permanent collection of New York City’s Museum of Modern Art. So hook up your computer, dock your iPod, or connect nearly any other audio device, and enjoy the ultimate listening experience from the world’s ultimate multimedia products.

A World-Class Listening Experience on the Go
The Harman Kardon Go + Play features an eye-catching industrial design that delivers an incredible sound experience from most dockable iPod models, MP3 players, or other audio devices, no matter where you happen to be. Using an arching stainless-steel handle and a flat protective cradle for keeping your iPod secure, the Go + Play works equally well on the go or as a personal home entertainment system.

Using proprietary speaker design and technology, the sound quality from the Go + Play is simply stunning. And with flexible connectivity, this incredible sound can be had from nearly any audio device, not just your iPod. There’s even an S-VHS output so you can watch the videos from your video iPod while enjoying their sound in incredible detail through the Go + Play speaker system.

With an included wireless remote control, using the system is a snap. The remote gives you full control of and access to your music, however and whenever you want it. The Harman Kardon Go + Play system is the perfect combination of functional design and unparalleled sound quality.

Flexible Connectivity
Great sound shouldn’t just be limited to a stand-alone system in your home. You also should be able to have great sound from your music devices when you’re on the go. With the Go + Play, you now can enjoy great sound wherever you happen to be. Take it with you anywhere; it works with both the included AC adapter and on batteries. You can rock out for nearly 18 hours from just 8 D-cell batteries, and there’s even a handy battery-save feature that will save your battery power when the system isn’t in use.

When it comes to connecting your musical devices, it couldn’t be easier. Do you have a dockable iPod? Simply place it in the flat protective cradle, and instantly enjoy the sound of your favorite musical artist. The Go + Play uses a OnePoint iPod connector so that, by connecting a standard USB cable to the rear of the unit, you’ll have a connection that enables you to synchronize your iPod with your computer. The Go + Play will even charge most iPods when they’re docked in the cradle. Don’t have an iPod? Well, you can still connect your MP3 player, portable CD player, satellite receiver, or computer through the Go + Play system’s 3.5-mm input using a simple cable.

The system even has the ability to connect to a television or display device using an S-VHS connection. Now, watching movies, TV shows, and other video content from your video iPod is just a connection away–and you get to listen to them through the high-performance speakers built into the Go + Play.

Advanced Technology
To deliver unmatched high-performance sound, the system features a number of proprietary technologies, including dual-proprietary Ridge transducers. They’re made from aluminum, which is inherently strong yet lightweight. This design allows these drivers to reproduce sound with unparalleled accuracy and detail for their size, and means that your music will be played back with a rich midrange and crystal-clear highs, without distortion.

The included wireless RF remote control gives you the freedom to enjoy your music from across the room, in another room, or even from outside–from up to 20 feet away. Click to enlarge.

To deliver thunderous bass, the Go + Play uses dual Atlas woofers, which maximize audible output. The Atlas woofers are a high-excursion design, which allows them to deliver the bass response of much larger woofers, and means you’ll hear tight, deep bass that will make your music sound more dynamic.

Powering the speakers are two 30-watt Harman Kardon amplifiers, which are designed to deliver high output with minimal distortion. The system even uses highly advanced digital signal processing and equalization to deliver cool, efficient power.

All of that technology comes together in the Harman Kardon Go + Play system to provide a sound experience–whether on the go or in your personal entertainment space–you need to hear to believe.

Easy to Use
No need to be a rocket scientist to use the Harman Kardon Go + Play system. Its elegant, stainless-steel touch-volume controls mean that a single touch increases or decreases the volume. And with the included wireless RF remote control, you have the freedom to enjoy your music from across the room, in another room, or even from outside–from up to 20 feet away. With full access to your iPod, you can easily change tracks, browse libraries, adjust settings, and scroll through extras. It’s the perfect way to enjoy your Harman Kardon Go + Play system, no matter where you happen to be.

What’s in the Box
Harman Kardon Go + Play speaker system, power supply, 3.5-mm auxiliary audio cable, remote, adapters for iPod


Customer Reviews: Read 74 more reviews…

5 out of 5 stars Excellent – Buy it! February 15, 2009
P. Fitzgerald
Rich, deep sound from my iPod or iPhone 3G. Sound from Bose, iM600, Klipsch iGroove or others I tried were not even close to the HK. PERIOD! This thing rocks and makes me smile every time I crank it up. A few things: 1) Yes, your iPhone 3G will dock in the cradle (at a slight incline), charge and work with the remote. (just ignore the message – iPhone sounds great and no need to turn airport on) 2) Use the dock – not sure why but the sound from the same device using the 3.5 mm cable isn’t as good. My guess is that when the iPod is docked in the cradle it syncs with the HK’s signal processing and equalization, something it may not be doing via the 3.5 mm input. BIG DIFFERENCE to my ears. 3) Latest model (purchased on 2/6/09) does not have the S-VHS or USB output…not a big deal to me.

5 out of 5 stars This thing rocks! February 13, 2009
nomsdos (Ramona, CA)
This thing rocks – literally. I tried out several bands/models in several stores with my own iPod so I could hear my type of music (hard rock). Price wasn’t a big concern but I needed one that would operate on batteries for tailgating, so that eliminated some of the super high end models. I did compare this to the portable Bose and I think this has a better sound. Great base with no distortion at high volume. Great overall clarity. There are speakers on the front and back so the sound goes everywhere and it’s loud (I was fortune to have fellow Disturbed fans near me so no one got upset with the volume)! Aside from the sound, which is what it’s all about, I note a couple things. The iPod attaches sort of awkwardly but it works just fine. It’s heavy and it’s generally odd looking, but with the sound as good as it is, who really cares. Battery power is great. I’m working on about 7+ hours with the same batteries and no problems. Price, I was prepared to spend more. The Amazon price is a good value but I got really lucky with mine. I picked it up at a local Fry’s as an open-box item for $188, nothing missing, best deal of 2008 for me!

5 out of 5 stars JAZZ! February 12, 2009
Jessie Dyess (jacksonville, fl United States)
I had never really heard my jazz selections before. It is to be in the room as the musicians perform. What an incredible sound!

5 out of 5 stars Simply…..COOL! February 11, 2009
R. Phillips (MS USA)
This dock has an awesome sound. The bass sounds great…I turned it on yesterday and turned it up a little (not all the way at all) and my deaf cat jumped up and started looking all around so I guess he could feel it. I was so surprised. The remote is fantastic and is easy to use and it works from a good distance without having to ever try more than once. It’s easy to get whatever ipod model in there. I recommend it because the sound is great, it looks fantastic and it is extremely simple to use. Note: I love my JBL on-stage too, but having the portability and the powerful speakers on this one is so much better.

5 out of 5 stars Looks good sounds great !!!!!!! February 10, 2009
Tim (CT)
This was an impluse buy when it was the gold box deal of the day. It was the lowest price ever at $210. What a deal at this price. Sounds awesome! What else is there to say? If you see the price drop again don’t snooze or you will loose! Buy it!!! This will not disappoint.

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products

Kensington Battery Pack and Charger for iPod; iPhone 1G, 3G

February 22, 2009 by  
Filed under Lifestyle, mp3 players

kensington-battery-pack-and-charger-for-ipod-iphone-1g-3g1Editorial Reviews:

Product Description
The Kensington Battery Pack and Charger for iPhone and iPod provide a go-anywhere, backup battery pack so the music and videos can keep playing.

Amazon.com Product Description
Got a lot of music and videos on your iPod? The rechargeable Kensington Battery Pack and Charger for iPhone and iPod provides a go-anywhere boost of juice so that the music and videos can keep playing. Simply connect the lightweight Battery Pack and Charger to your laptop or notebook computer’s USB port to recharge it, and you’re ready to give your PDA, cell phone, iPod, iPhone, or other mobile devices the power boost it needs.

A go-anywhere, backup battery pack so that the music and videos can keep playing.
LED battery meter displays remaining power level.
Charge up and rock out.

Features

  • Rechargeable battery pack extends playing time up to 100 hours of music*; 21 hours of video*; 6 hours of talk**.
  • AC power adapter with USB allows you to recharge your battery pack.
  • Includes a dock connector to power and charge your iPhone and iPod.
  • Included mini-USB cable powers and charges other mobile devices, such as cell phones, PDAs, and more.
  • LED battery meter displays remaining power level.
  • High-capacity, rechargeable Lithium-Ion polymer battery pack increases energy efficiency.

* 3rd generation iPod nano
** iPhone

Warranty
Battery Pack and Charger for iPhone and iPod is backed by the Kensington 2-Year warranty.

What’s in the Box
Battery Pack, Charger, input power cable, dock connector, mini-USB cable


Customer Reviews: Read 23 more reviews…

5 out of 5 stars Highly Recomended! February 19, 2009
B. Henderson (Northern California USA)
1 out of 1 found this review helpful

There are a lot of different chargers out there, and it is important to me that I have an extreamly good one. I have been very satisfied with this charger mostly because that it is capable of charging more than one device. You can plug it into the wall to charge it and your iPod or iPhone at the same time even! You can plug it into your computer for charging or transfering, and you can also charge both your iPod and iPhone! It comes with all the cables, and I got more than what I expected out of it!
I bought this because I travel a lot to Colombia from the States, and it is important that I am able to fully charge my iPod when I can’t access an outlet! What is even cooler is that if my iPod is fully dead, this battery pack will fully charge it with a little left over for later! For all of these reasons, I highly recomend this battery pack! I would buy another 1 if it were necessary!

5 out of 5 stars Great purchase! Works well!! February 11, 2009
Crissy L. Delpercio (Leawood, KS)
Bought this for my boyfriend and his iPhone. He loves it. It’s saved him from a jam more than once… It charged right up and charges the battery in the iPhone nicely. It also doubles as another plug-in charger, so it was definitely worth the money!

5 out of 5 stars great product! February 11, 2009
Judith K. Tong (bay area, ca, usa)
the battery pack works exactly as you would want it to….very simple, yet provides the additional power you want for watching movies on the plane, so that when you arrive at your destination, you still have an iphone with power to spare!
great value!

5 out of 5 stars So Far So Good February 11, 2009
Alan (Elk River MN)
1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Purchased the Kennsington to charge my iPod Touch 2G and I must say Im very pleased thusfar. On “test runs”, I let my iPod drain down to about 25% battery and recharged with the Kennsington. Quick recharge. Did this two more times before having to recharge the Kennsington. Real life trip flying and watching video, same results. Three recharges with a little juice to spare. Smaller than the iPod in size, lightweight. The only downside, and its minor unless your really pressed for space – It takes two cables to work, a mini USB for charging the battery pack and a standard USB to charge the iPod.

5 out of 5 stars Great Service/Great Product January 18, 2009
M. Murphy (USA)
This came very quickly and I was happy with the item. I was using the Energizer battery before and it was not a good product. This item works great. I wish it had a carrying case so I could keep it with the Ipod but thats minor. All in all I was very happy with it.

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products

Next Page »