Canon EOS 5D Mark II 21.1MP Full Frame CMOS Digital SLR Camera (Body Only)

February 25, 2009 by  
Filed under Digital Camcorder, Lifestyle

canon-eos-5d-mark-ii1Editorial Reviews:

Product Description

Compact, lightweight with environmental protection, EOS 5D successor boasts a newly-designed Canon CMOS sensor, with ISO sensitivity up to 25,600 for shooting in near dark conditions. The new DIGIC 4 processor combines with the improved CMOS sensor to deliver medium format territory image quality at 3.9 frames per second, for up to 310 frames. Triggered from Live View Mode, HD video capture allows users to shoot uninterrupted at full 1080 resolution at 30fps — for amazing quality footage with outstanding levels of detail and realism. The integration of HD movie capability into a high-end 21.1-megapixel camera opens a multitude of new possibilities for photojournalists and news photographers. With its full frame CMOS sensor and outstanding ISO performance, the EOS 5D Mark II will appeal to any photographer in search of the finest camera equipment available — from studio and wedding to nature and travel photographers.


Customer Reviews: Read 48 more reviews…2 out of 5 stars back focusing problem February 20, 2009
K. Rajan (Hercuels, Ca United States)
2 out of 5 found this review helpful

I sold my Canon 1d Mark II on ebay and bought this one. Took various test shots and noticed that some shots were a bit out of focus. So i set up a grid at a 45 degree angle and noticed that the camera was focusing past the focus lock point. I tested with various back focusing test online and sure enough it was back focusing. A while ago i had this problem with my Canon 10d and had sent it to canon for repair 3 times and they said they could not fix it and i was too picky. Well if i am going to spend 2700 on a camera with 21 megapixels, darn tootin i am going to be picky.

5 stars to Amazon, i had the camera 25 days and they let me return it. I will always buy from Amazon just for this reason, a very good return policy, even on digital cameras where most give you only 10 days then a huge restocking fee.

5 out of 5 stars Magnifique! February 17, 2009
B. Jaber (San Jose, CA United States)
What else can I say about this camera that hasn’t already been said here and in the hundreds of online and magazine reviews. Simply put, “It Rocks”. The low-light high-ISO low-noise performance of this camera is simply mind boggling.

5 out of 5 stars This camera is awesome. February 11, 2009
Bionic Dog (Los Angeles, CA United States)
1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Are you a photographer? Hard to beat this full-frame 21mp camera for the price. Do you like HD video with depth of field using great lenses? This is the only camera in existence that does it this well for the price. It’s not perfect, but very few things are when the first arrive on scene. That said, go surf the web and you’ll see the amazing work people are still able to do with it, even with all the imperfections. If you shoot video for paying clients, this may not be the camera for you, unless it is only to supplement other cameras in your collection. Otherwise, I’ve been waiting for this camera for a long time and it’s finally here.

4 out of 5 stars Great pics and video February 9, 2009
T. Snyder
1 out of 8 found this review helpful

Fabulous full frame pics. Colors are spot on.

Only nit is the slow focus.

5 out of 5 stars Canon 5DMKII February 8, 2009
Tech User (USA)
1 out of 7 found this review helpful

I have the Classic 5D and waited 5 weeks before I found the 5DMKII on Amazon.
I considered buying another Canon body due to frustration from waiting, but I`m glad I waited. This camera is the best. On my first shoot I was able to capture a Hanger. Canon`s digital photo forum CC section gave my shot Keeper, Hanger and Sell it reviews. I couldn’t be happier with this camera.


Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products

Panasonic HDC-SD100 Flash Memory High Definition Camcorder with 12x Optical Zoom

February 19, 2009 by  
Filed under Digital Camcorder, Lifestyle

panasonic-hdc-sd1003Editorial Reviews:


Product Description



Records on SD-Storage – 8GB Included / Leica 12x Zoom Lens / Up to 1920×1080 Resolution / 3 CMOS Sensor / Face Detection High-Speed Bust Shooting lets the camcorders snap up to 24 consecutive 2.1 MB resolution still images in a second, or up to approximately 72 consecutive shots in 3 seconds. Pre-Rec enables the camcorder to continuously record three seconds (while in the Pre-Rec mode) internal buffer memory. Then, when the Record button is actually pressed, the three seconds immediately prior are added at the beginning of the clip. Wide-Viewing-Angle LCD has 300,000 dots and a 170-degree viewing angle both vertically and horizontally. This LCD provides extended viewing from both high and low angles. Advanced O.I.S. (Optical Image Stabilization) detects hand-shake and then triggers the lens to shift to correctly align the optical axis, helping to ensure videos are sharp and reduce blur. This happens at a rate of 4,000 times per second. Face Detection automatically adjusts the exposure, contrast, skin complexion effect, and focus so that faces are always clear. Face Detection can detect up to 15 faces in a frame. Intelligent Contrast Control continually measures the ambient light intensity and adjusts the contrast


Customer Reviews:4 out of 5 stars Very good camera for your dollar January 22, 2009
Mark Johnson (wa)
5 out of 8 found this review helpful

This is my 3rd HD camera. I first had a JVC HD-7 which took very good video in high outdoor light only, indoors was utterly very poor. I do a lot of videos of my toddler indoors and even with all the lights on it was very poor quality so I went with the panasonic new 3MOS system for all the praise it got on low light conditions. That was the worst camera I’ve ever ever used. the video quality was like a camera phone. This camera is my favorite of the 3. IT’s very very small but heavy and feels very well built. I love the fact that I can dock it on it’s little cradle and no fiddling with usb and power cables. I love that it closes the lens cover automatically unlike the jvc. I love the touch screen. The video in high light is very good, probably as good as the more robust 26Mbps mpeg recording of the jvc. low light is still not everything I would hope but still better than the jvc and a million times better than the panasonic 3MOS chip. It’s good enough to make me happy after two HD failures. on another note, bundled software is lacking power. This camera is capable of 60i but for some odd reason the bundled software is not. you can only use power director if you record in 30p mode. even premiere cs4 saw the 60i mp4 files as 15fps and would not convert them right. AVS video tools finally worked well for me and has an available lifetime upgrade option.

http://www.creativeheadspace.com

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products