50 Shades Darker of Grey

Click for Best Price

 

Book Description

Daunted by the singular tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

 

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1,242 of 1,288 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It’s awful, but oh so addicting April 29, 2012
Format:Paperback|Amazon Verified Purchase
After surviving 50 Shades of Grey, and after taking a break for a few days from Ana and Christian’s tortured romance, I girded my loins and cracked open the second book of the trilogy, 50 Shades Darker.For those of you intrigued by the words “butt plug” or “fisting,” half of you will enjoy your lucky day, because one of those is kinda sorta featured in this book. As it is, the only fisting we ever see – ever come close to seeing – is that of Ana’s or Christian’s hands in the others’ hair. And that happens a lot. Not as often as Ana or Christian gasping, or Christian setting his lips in a hard line, or Ana biting her lip, or Ana coming undone, or Christian frowning. In fact, Christian’s frowning is such a “thing” that, when Ana frowns, another character observes that she’s turning into Christian.

It’s just … WHERE THE HELL WAS THE EDITOR?

But I digress.

To dig too deeply into the spectacle that is 50 Shades of Grey is to approach Sisyphean frustration. Trust me, because I know of what I speak. I spent an inordinate amount of time wondering how it was that Christian Grey was 27 and a billionaire as I read the first book. I don’t think we are meant to really ponder this stuff. I think we’re supposed to strap on our dildos and have at it, as it were.

Okay, so. When we last left Christian and Ana, she had walked out on him, horrified at the depravity entailed in his life of BDSM. (Go ahead and Google THAT, people. I had to, so you might as well.) As with its muse, Twilight, we see our heroine descend into despair, but unlike Bella’s months on end, Ana really only suffers for five days. Christian gets in touch with her, and it’s game on, kids. Christian is prepared to let go of his need for dominance in his playroom, because all he really wants – all he really needs – is Ana. She has admitted that she loves him, but it takes Christian a little longer.

Now, before you start thinking that this is the end of the Red Room of Pain, let me tell you that it is not. Don’t worry – Christian keeps the room, and Ana remains inexplicably drawn to it. So those butt plugs come in handy (no pun intended), although – SPOILER – Christian does point out that for the anally virgin, a finger is a better start. So Ana has something to look forward to, so to speak.

Back to the plot, such as it is. It turns out that one of Christian’s former subs remains fixated on him, so she enters the story to muck up Christian and Ana’s relationship. Also causing trouble is Ana’s boss at the publishing house. He wants her, which pisses off Christian, who reacts as only Christian can. Meanwhile, Christian and Ana’s romance progresses in fits and starts. She loves him, he really cares about her, can he say the “L” word, can they get past his need for control, why does he love her, why does she love him, can he overcome his tortured childhood, blah blah blah.

What you really want to know about are the sex scenes, right? RIGHT? I’m pretty sure you butt plug searching people aren’t concerned about the dialogue.

In this book, they rock the headboard in an elevator, on a boat, in Christian’s childhood room, in the shower (again – evidently they enjoy that spot), Ana’s apartment bedroom, Christian’s apartment bedroom, and – YESS! – the Red Room of Pain. Oh, and on top of a piano and a pool table. There may be more. Did the desk happen in this book, or the previous one? I think they wind up on Christian’s desk in this one, too.

During one of the many times Ana challenges Christian, they are in the library, competing in a billiards game.

“You know, Anastasia, I could stand here and watch you leaning and stretching across this billiard table all day,” he says appreciatively.

I flush. [SHE FLUSHES A LOT. That’s another thing that is repetitive, and so again, I ask, WHERE THE HELL IS THE EDITOR? Oh – those are “shouty caps,” according to Ana. Back to the program.] Thank heavens I am wearing my jeans. He smirks. [HE SMIRKS A LOT. So does she. Sometimes they smirk, bite lips and eye roll, all at the same time.] He’s trying to put me off my game, the bastard. He pulls his cream sweater over his head, tosses it onto the back of a chair, and grins at me, as he saunters over to take his first shot.

He bends low over the table. My mouth goes dry. Oh, I see what he means. Christian in tight jeans and white T-shirt, bending, like that … is something to behold. I quite lose my train of thought. He sinks four solids rapidly, then fouls by sinking the white.

Foreplay, Christian styles.

And now, for the butt plug seekers:

“What’s this?” I hold up the silver bullet thing.

“Always hungry for information, Miss Steele. That’s a butt plug,” he says gently.

“Oh …”

“Bought for you.”

What? For me?

He nods slowly, his face now serious and wary.

I frown. [AGAIN – she always frowns. Or he frowns. They frown a LOT.] “You buy new, er … toys … for each submissive?”

“Some things. Yes.”

“Butt plugs?”

“Yes.”

So there you go. They come up again, so buy a copy and knock yourself out.

Is 50 Shades Darker good? Hell to the no, it is not good. But is it entertaining? Yes. Is it hot? Yes. Is it worth reading? Yes. If you can get past all of the awful writing, it’s very enjoyable. I admit that I read it cover to cover, and I look forward to 50 Shades Freed. Do not, however, mistake an enjoyable read for something well written, because this is NOT well written. It’s like literary crack. You know it’s bad for you, and you feel dirty and low for enjoying it, but you can’t stop.

I gave this 4 stars. Don’t judge me.

If you want to know my thoughts on Fifty Shades Freed, check it: http://www.amazon.com/review/R16U7WCSXSQRJR/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm

Published on cupcake’s book cupboard. @VivaAmaRisata

Was this review helpful to you?
140 of 152 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More of fifty shades of highly overrated tripe May 3, 2012
By write1
Format:Paperback
The last time we met our intrepid hero, I mean dom, he was standing in shock over Ana leaving him all alone in his red room of pain. What did he expect her to do jump and down and thank him for that beating? The book was an exercise in how not to write a sequel. There is virtually no plot. Ana can’t even go five days without her needy, controlling sorry excuse for a boyfriend. Yes, he’s needy and controlling and can’t seem to get his head around the fact that Ana should have a life. All they have in common is sex which isn’t a good foundation for any relationship, and are soon back together. It has’t even been a week! There isn’t much of a plot, just Ana and Christian questioning each other and themselves. And amidst all this supposed romance is page after repetitive page of sex. Not much there considering all the stuff they seem to do to each other. It gets really boring by the way. At one point I felt like a spectator at the horizontal olympics. I mean, come on! If they’re at each other that much, how can she even walk? That’s all they seem to have in common. It’s “I don’t trust you,” “Don’t leave me”, ” How can you find me attractive?” I wonder about the mental stability of both characters. Not to mention an annoying back story about how Christian doesn’t like to be touched and about his need to dominate women just because they remind him of his mother. There’s a little sub-plot about a former submissive who’s so unstable and emotionally fragile you wonder about Mr. Grey and why he’s not in prison. I also find it hard to believe that at 27 he’d be at the helm of some massive corporation and still feels the need to whine about how Ana left him and how he needs her. Buddy, you’re a ruthless gazillionaire and head of a powerful corporation. People need you, you don’t need anybody! But alas, Christian is finding his fragile, needy, stalking, controlling self, and can’t seem to find a leash long enough to put around Ana who constantly needs breathing space from her handsome psychotic boyfriend who was basically molested by an older woman we call Mrs. Robinson in the book. This woman gave birth to his sadomasochistic tendencies. He says she helped him by beating the crap out of him (he’s so stupid he can’t see it for child molestation) and he can’t bear to be touched because of what his birth mother’s pimp did to him (he constantly refers to her as the “crack whore” how touching and downright annoying). He can’t break ties with Mrs. Robinson and tell her to go to hell. Guess who does? Ana tries to, but she’s no good at it…it’s his adoptive mother who was by far, the strongest woman in the book. Towards the end, I was kind of tired of all the sex, the whining, the stalking, the whining, the sex, more whining, there’s a marriage proposal in there somewhere. I can’t imagine why’d she want to marry a mess of a man who is so broken by the mere thought of leaving him, he constantly needs reassurance that she won’t do it again! Another mess of a novel. By the time Christian’s helicopter goes missing, you wish he had stayed missing so Ana can go whine about her insecurities in peace. Another boring end to boring characters who really should have been put out of their misery before they even made it to book one.
Was this review helpful to you?
255 of 286 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars And the award for the most unlikable lead character in a book goes to… April 26, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Anastasia Steele! Oh my God, was she awful! “I want you…I can’t please you…I’ll never leave you…I can’t give you what you need…and on and on and ON!” Grow up! At one point in the book, she stated that she doesn’t understand why Christian likes her. You and me both, sister! And then there’s the sophomoric writing! It’s soooo repetitive…repetitive…repetitive! But wait! Just when you think the same phrase is going to be used, YET AGAIN, the author throws in some arbitrary word that causes you to have to use your Kindle dictionary and doesn’t fit in with any of the other elementary wording that takes place throughout the book. Who uses the word “avuncular” in everyday talk? Am I really supposed to believe that a word that advanced is coming from the same person who constantly refers to her female anatomy as “down there”? I’m rolling my eyes (which is quite ironic because that was a central theme in this book)! I haven’t even finished the book but after the marriage proposal, I could take no more! I had to stop what I was doing just to write this review! And I probably won’t finish the book because it will most likely be another 100 pages of “His eyes are gray…He looks impassive…I bit my lip…Gasp…Oh my…He finds his release…blah blah blah!”
Was this review helpful to you?

 

Written by - Creative Lifestyle Products

Kindle – Bah, Humbug!

July 31, 2012 by  
Filed under Books, Relationships

Click for Best Price

Book Description

 

Publication Date: September 9, 2011

 

PG-RATED FUN

BAH, HUMBUG! (A Romantic Comedy Christmas Novella)

Lexi Anderson is an up-and-coming, Martha Stewart-type TV hostess whose two kids love the Jared Strong adventure novels, which happen to be written by their new neighbor, Kyle Miller.

For the first time in his writing career, Kyle has writer’s block–until he sees the snowman on his lawn and realizes it’s the perfect solution to his plot problem. He digs in and discovers two things: one, his villain’s weapon will fit inside a snowman’s body, and two, this particular snowman was supposed to be the backdrop for Lexi’s next show.

From this improbable beginning comes friendship, but can there be a happy ending for a woman who is afraid to get close again and a man who has shadows from his childhood?

Families join together and hearts are healed as this couple goes walking in a winter wonderland.

It’s a novella of about 100 pages. The paperback version will be available soon.

OTHER BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR:FUNNY MYSTERIES:
The Who-Dun-Him Inn series: Snowed Inn (#1)
The Bad Mothers Club series: The Bad Mothers Club (#1)ROMANTIC COMEDIES & SUSPENSE:
Bah, Humbug! (99-cent Christmas novella)
Baby Mine, Old Money, No Sudden MovesThe Chick Flick Clique series (2012 ):
While You Were Stranded #1
Bear Foot in the Park #2
My Spare Lady #3The LDS series:
How to Stuff a Wild Zucchini
Old Maid of Honor
Dinosaur Ball (novella)
You Just Turned 8 (a baptism book)INSPIRATIONAL:
Women & Men Who Knew the Mortal Messiah

OTHER FEATURES:
Full working Table of Contents.


Most Helpful Customer Reviews
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutest Christmas Story Ever December 23, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
Before I get into talking about this book, I just want to say that I absolutely LOVE the cover of this book; I think it’s safe to say that I definitely have a cover crush!! This book was an amazing read, and it really got me into the Christmas spirit. Lexi Anderson, the main character, is a divorced mother to two children, Trista, who is 11-years-old, and Stephen, who is 7-years-old. Lexi is also a TV hostess, and is often referred to as Martha Stewart of the new millennium. In the story, Lexi Anderson meets Kyle Miller, an author who her children happen to be obsessed with, who is also their next door neighbor. When they first meet, Lexi and Kyle get off on the wrong foot and it’s definitely hilarious as to why they don’t get along at first. As the story goes along, you learn a lot more about both of their characters, their struggles, and even how they truly feel about one another. I absolutely loved this book, and I will definitely be reading it again…I was shocked because even though it was a short story, it ended perfectly!! My favorite part of the story was the reason they got off on the wrong foot ended up being the start of something new for them. This book made me laugh, (almost) made me cry, and it really got me into the Christmas spirit, and I loved every minute of it.[…]
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love this book! December 13, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
This was a fun, quick book to read, especially for the holiday season. It is so nice to read a clean romance novel. Heather does a wonderful job with this book as well as all of her others!
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tis the season for a short and sweet romantic novella! January 3, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
Would definitely recommend this book for the holiday season. It’s a very easy and quick read, it’s clean and just fun! It was very well written, I could imagine what “Christmas Street” really looked like, with the snowmen and lights and decorations.The characters were realistic and fun, I really enjoyed this book!
Was this review helpful to you?
Written by - Creative Lifestyle Products

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4)

February 17, 2009 by  
Filed under Books, Relationships

breaking-dawn   



Editorial Reviews:



Great love stories thrive on sacrifice. Throughout The Twilight Saga (Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse), Stephenie Meyer has emulated great love stories–Romeo and Juliet, Wuthering Heights–with the fated, yet perpetually doomed love of Bella (the human girl) and Edward (the vampire who feeds on animals instead of humans). In Breaking Dawn, the fourth and final installment in the series, Bella’s story plays out in some unexpected ways. The ongoing conflicts that made this series so compelling–a human girl in love with a vampire, a werewolf in love with a human girl, the generations-long feud between werewolves and vampires–resolve pretty quickly, apparently so that Meyer could focus on Bella’s latest opportunity for self-sacrifice: giving her life for someone she loves even more than Edward. How close she comes to actually making that sacrifice is questionable, which is a big shift from the earlier books. Even though you knew Bella would make it through somehow, the threats to her life, and to her relationship with Edward, had previously always felt real. It’s as if Meyer was afraid of hurting her characters too much, which is unfortunate, because the pain Bella suffered at losing Edward in New Moon, and the pain Jacob suffered at losing Bella again and again, are the fire and the heart that drive the whole series. Diehard fans will stick with Bella, Edward, and Jacob for as many twists and turns as possible, but after most of the characters get what they want with little sacrifice, some readers may have a harder time caring what happens next. (Ages 12 and up) —Heidi Broadhead

Product Description
When you loved the one who was killing you, it left you no options. How could you run, how could you fight, when doing so would hurt that beloved one? If your life was all you had to give, how could you not give it? If it was someone you truly loved?To be irrevocably in love with a vampire is both fantasy and nightmare woven into a dangerously heightened reality for Bella Swan. Pulled in one direction by her intense passion for Edward Cullen, and in another by her profound connection to werewolf Jacob Black, a tumultuous year of temptation, loss, and strife have led her to the ultimate turning point. Her imminent choice to either join the dark but seductive world of immortals or to pursue a fully human life has become the thread from which the fates of two tribes hangs.

Now that Bella has made her decision, a startling chain of unprecedented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating, and unfathomable, consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella’s life–first discovered in Twilight, then scattered and torn in New Moon and Eclipse–seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed… forever?

The astonishing, breathlessly anticipated conclusion to the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn illuminates the secrets and mysteries of this spellbinding romantic epic that has entranced millions.


Customer Reviews: Read 4098 more reviews…   

5 out of 5 stars Terrific Book! February 18, 2009
Peaches78 (New Hampshire)
Speaking from a woman, wife, and mother’s point of view, this last book was the perfect finale to a wonderfully tangled and passionate love story! From remembering my teenage years to the climax of adulthood (speaking as a fairly young mom!) through books 1 – 4, this series was hypnotic and addictive.

My 11 (nearly 12) year old daughter absolutely loves all things Edward and Bella as well. She was every bit as engrossed in their love story as I was all the way through book 4.

Personally, I can’t wait for Stephenie Meyer to complete and publish Midnight Sun. I hope that she re-writes the entire series from Edwards point of view! It is guaranteed to be just as enthralling in my opinion.

5 out of 5 stars Very pleased February 17, 2009
Jenee Michelle Rose (Colorado, TN USA)
0 out of 3 found this review helpful

I was very pleased with this audio book. It’s very well done and I love how her voice is very animated so you’re aware of who’s talking and gives a good feel for the mood, etc. There was also a guy’s voice for Jacob, so it fits the character much better when it was from his point of view.

5 out of 5 stars Interesting Ending to Twilight Saga February 17, 2009
Michelle J. Littlefield (Saint Charles, MN USA)
0 out of 3 found this review helpful

I was very pleased with all the Twilight books. Stephenie Meyer is a very talented writer and I look forward to reading other books of hers.

I would also recommend these books for your teenage (tween) children. My daughter is an avid reader and she enjoyed the book so much . . . she read them all twice!

4 out of 5 stars Breaking Dawn February 17, 2009
Jennifer L. Kent
0 out of 3 found this review helpful

I order this book. And it took a few days to get, great service. The book was in great condition. I would buy again.

5 out of 5 stars Breaking Dawn February 17, 2009
MargaretAWagner (NC, USA)
0 out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this series and do not want the book to end. I am going to miss the characters.

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products

He’s Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys

February 10, 2009 by  
Filed under Relationships

hes-just-not-that-into-youEditorial Reviews:

Product Description

Based on an episode of “Sex and the City,” offers a lighthearted, no-nonsense look at dead-end relationships, with advice for letting go and moving on.


Customer Reviews: Read 850 more reviews…

4 out of 5 stars Yeah we pretty much know all of this… February 10, 2009
Jacque Cartwright (texas)
but of course we remain in denial and make excuses. I enjoyed the book, and I knew that there would be lots of scenarios in it that I would know first hand. It helps when you have a guy telling you the truth..and I believe he is, I have some male friends who agree. If you are wondering where your relationship is going, or why he doesn’t call. He’s just not into you. So the moral of the story..leave and find someone who is.

1 out of 5 stars not sure what sucks more the movie or book February 10, 2009
Tai I. Rivera (Miami,FL)
I should have written this book and made money off of it- or better yet I could have had my dog do it!!! Puhlease, in this day and age,after one date do you really think women go around banging there head on the wall because some man hasn’t called them? I think the movie just gave us women a bad name. We are much smarter than this book or movie leads the world to believe. We have got men figured out but SOME (a very small percentage) see the glass as half full. YES men, we do actually know your not that into us, but some of us like pretending to protect our own feelings. To the author of this book, stick to be being a funny guy.

5 out of 5 stars “HE’S JUST NOT THAT INTO YOU “ February 8, 2009
Change Is Good (Uniontown, PA)
This book is a must~read for ALL women who are currently in a relationship, have had past relationships, and are looking for a relationship. This book has some clear insight on men, and I believe can help women open up their eyes and see a little more clearly. Reflect back and take a look. And remember that you deserve nothing but the BEST!!! :)

2 out of 5 stars Women who STILL depend on men for their self-esteem February 8, 2009
C Mitt (Offcenter ZA)
0 out of 1 found this review helpful

Apparently there are women who need to patronize other women, and soften the obvious by calling it their “belief”? Like it’s some sort of sacred “choice.”

To wit: “My belief is that if you have to be the aggressor, if you have to pursue, if you have to do the asking out, nine times out of 10, he’s just not that into you.”

Just say, “Sister, get over yourself.”

Men have waaay less trouble figuring out that if she doesn’t return a call or is always “busy,” she’s just not that into you.

Gals, it’s not brain surgery.

5 out of 5 stars A nice reminder to never lower your standards! February 8, 2009
CLP (Minnesota)
This book was very helpful when my brian quit working when it came to men. I found that the message of this book applied to many relationships, not just with loser men! If you’re trying to get your mind of that loser, then read this book! You’ll be suprised how much it will help, even if it’s not right away!

Written by Lifestyle Review Editor - Creative Lifestyle Products